Where Does Your Road Lead? (part I)

Here’s a little creative exercise that all of you right-brainers will probably love, and you left-brainers may attempt to either over-analyze it or dismiss its importance.

Lisa Gates of Design Your Writing Life posted it as a Writing Exercise and urged me to create my rendition. Lisa writes a story about her road, and leaves it for you to interpret as you wish (right-brain, creative) She borrowed the idea from Liz Strauss of Successful Blog, who had originally posted it as a Psychological Survey of Attitudes.  Liz lists her answers and gives some explanation to the interpretation (left-brain, analytical). Ah, I can already see where my story is headed.
Come on and join me as I take a walk down my road…

  • You’re walking on a road. It’s your road. Tell me about it.
  • As you walk, you pass a body of water, describe it.
  • Directly in your path is an empty bottle. What’s your response to it?
  • You continue until you find yourself facing a wall that crosses your road perpendicularly. What do you do?

My road is a dirt road in the country. But, it’s not at all desolate. There are people who come and go on it every day. I wave as they pass by in their car or stop and talk if they are on foot. The road itself is well-worn and smooth, not filled with ruts and not overgrown or unkempt on the bankings by the edge.

As I walk, I pass by a rushing brook that cascades over rocks and churns the water like a faucet turned on full force. Eventually it becomes a steady stream calmly washing over a shallow bed of stones. I thrill with the sounds of  its strongset currents, then as I continue my walk I pause to reflect at its quiet flow. Some days I wonder, how can that same amount of water have such a different amount of energy and effect depending where it is along the road. Then I answer myself, realizing, that just like me its reactions vary according to what it encounters on the journey downstream.  

Finding an empty bottle directly in my path is not a good thing. To me it means that someone was careless and disrespectful of a road that means a lot to me. I also see it as potential danger to other travelers who may trip on it, get cut, or might make the wrong choice and  pick it up and toss it to the side. So, I do the responsible thing and pick it up to discard with the recyclables. Or if it’s a blue cobalt one like Lisa found on her walk, I’ll take it home to use as a vase for wildflowers.

Finally, continuing down the road,  I am told I will encounter a wall that crosses it perpendicularly. My reaction to that is at first surprise. How did it get there? Who put it there? And then, action. I will take it down piece by piece. I’ll do it in a neat and orderly fashion if it’s deconstructable (like rails or rocks), or I’ll do it with some form of explosiveness and help from my fellow travelers if it’s a solid wall. My road may have some distractions and obstacle along the way, but it is always an open road. No blockades, no detours, no walls! It is, after all My Road.

To be continued…

3 comments so far

  1. Lisa Gates on

    Francie,
    This is quite fun. The resourceful scientist, the appreciative artist. Equal parts right brain, left brain. Here’s my big take away: you are a do-er extraordinaire. Not much gets in your way. Like your blog, there is a prescriptive or an opportunity in every perceived roadblock.

    What a great way to get to know someone…

    Thank you for playing.
    L

  2. francies on

    Lisa,

    Thanks for provoking my thoughts!

    I’m impressed with your assessment of me.
    That’s what I strive for anyway 😎

  3. […] 23, 2007 Okay, I’m back! Veered off MY Road for a few, as described in previous post of Where does your road lead. Been taking some side roads, detours and even got on amain thorouhgfare for a few. That’s […]


Leave a Reply

